Charles Ede Ltd.

Back to index

James Ede

Charles Ede Ltd.
1 Three Kings' Yard
London W1K 4JP
Großbritannien

T 44 (0) 207 493 4944
F 44 (0) 207 491 2548

info@charlesede.com
Visit website

Charles Ede Ltd. ist eine führende Galerie für antike Kunst in London. Charles Ede gründete 1947 die Folio Society, einen bekannten Verlag. 1959 eröffnete er ein Zweigunternehmen: Folio Fine Art, spezialisiert auf Altertümer. 1972 verkaufte Charles Ede sein Unternehmen, um sich allein auf die antike Kunst zu spezialisieren. Er richtete eine neue Galerie unter seinem eigenen Namen in Brook Street ein. Seitdem hat die Galerie über 300 Kataloge publiziert und regelmäßig an den wichtigsten internationalen Kunstmessen teilgenommen.

James Ede, der nach seinem Studium in Oxford 1977 dem väterlichen Geschäft beitrat, ist seit 1986 Geschäftsführer. Er hat als Chairman der IADAA gewirkt, und ist seit der Gründung des Verbands Mitglied des Vorstands. Er ist Ratgeber der Britischen Regierung und Sachverständiger für das Portable Antiquities Scheme. Er ist offizieller Schätzer für die Commonwealth of Australia und Mitglied im Rat der British Art Market Federation.

Die Galerie ist spezialisiert auf Kunst der Mittelmeerwelt, besonders Kunstschätze der griechischen, römischen und ägyptischen Zivilisationen.

Die Galerie hat sich darauf spezialisiert, Objekte von höchster Qualität mit guter Provenienz anzubieten. Zu ihren Kunden zählen viele Privatsammler. Dazu pflegt die Galerie lange Verbindungen zu den wichtigsten Museen und sie ist stolz darauf, zahlreiche Objekte an Lehrsammlungen von Universitäten vermittelt zu haben.

Statuette einer Venus Victrix
Marmor
H: 94.5 cm
Römisch, 1.Jh.-2.Jh. n. Chr.

Provenance:
Cavaliere Marinucci, Rome 1900
Sold Parke Bernet, New York, Antiquities, 15th May 1958, no. 67
Alexander Iolas, New York, USA
Ophiuchus Collection, New York, USA, 1982

Charles Ede Ltd.

Back to index

James Ede

Charles Ede Ltd.
1 Three Kings' Yard
London W1K 4JP
United Kingdom

T 44 (0) 207 493 4944
F 44 (0) 207 491 2548

info@charlesede.com
Visit website

Charles Ede Ltd is a leading London-based gallery in the field of Ancient Art. Charles Ede was the founder of the Folio Society, a famous publishing house (1947). A subsidiary, Folio Fine Art, started offering antiquities in 1959, but in 1972 Charles Ede sold the business in order to be able to concentrate solely on ancient art, and established a new gallery under his own name in Brook Street. Since that time, the company has published over 300 catalogues and participates regularly in the major international art fairs.

James Ede, who joined his father in the business on leaving Oxford in 1977 has been Managing Director since 1986. He has served as Chairman of IADAA and been a board member since the founding of the Association. He has served on advisory panels for the British Government and is a valuer for the Portable Antiquities Scheme. He is the official valuer for the Commonwealth of Australia and a member of the council of the British Art Market Federation.

The gallery specializes in antiquities from the Mediterranean area, in particular items from the Greek, Roman and Egyptian civilizations.

The gallery has a policy of only offering provenanced items of high quality. In addition to numbering major private collectors among its clientelle, the gallery has long-standing relationships with all the major museums and is proud to have supplied large numbers of antiquities to University teaching collections.

Roman statue of Venus Victrix
1st-2nd century AD
Marble
Height 94.5 cm

Literature:
Exhibited:
Minneapolis Museum of Art 1925-1958
Published:
Bulletin of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts (1925), p. 96-97
S. Reinach, Répertoire de la Statuaire Grecque et Romaine, Vol. VI (Paris, 1930), p. 84, no. 5
A. Andeomenou, 'Chronika', Archaiologikon Deltion, Vol. XXVII (Athens, 1972), p. 697, no. 5, pl. 650/a
G. Touchais, 'Chronique des Fouilles 1976', Bulletin de Correspondance Hellénique, Vol. 101 (Paris, 1977), p. 521-2, fig 28
I. Love, Ophiuchus Collection (Florence, 1989), p. 70-75, no. 12
Literature:
For the iconography see Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae, Vol. II, pl. 77/774
Provenance:
Cavaliere Marinucci, Rome 1900
Sold Parke Bernet, New York, Antiquities, 15th May 1958, no. 67
Alexander Iolas, New York, USA
Ophiuchus Collection, New York, USA; acquired 1982