Sasson Ancient Art

Back to index

Gideon Sasson

Sasson Ancient Art
King David Hotel-Annex
IS-Jerusalem 94 101
Israel

T +9722 622 1460
F +9722 624 9483

gideon@sassonancientart.com
Visit website

Die Sasson Ancient Art Gallery beschäftigt sich mit antiker Kunst und Objekten vom Nahen Osten, Ägypten und der Klassischen Welt: Griechen, Etruskern und Römern. Sie beschäftigt sich außerdem mit früher jüdischer und christlicher Kunst aus der frühen byzantinischen Zeit.

Die Galerie wurde von Gideon Sasson 1981 gegründet. Er ist bereits in der dritten Generation Kunsthänder in Jerusalem und hat am Archäologischen Institut der Hebräischer Universität, Jerusalem 1978 seinen Magister in klassischer Archäologie gemacht.
Gideon Sasson ist auf Bronze- und Marmorskulptur spezialisiert sowie auf vorrömisches und römisches Glas. Er hat einen großen Anteil beim Aufbau verschiedener der wichtigsten Sammlungen antiker Kunst, und unter seinen Kunden sind Museen, Sammler und Händler aus der ganzen Welt. Er hat bei internationalen Kunstmessen wie der TEFAF Basel ausgestellt, und er ist Gründungsmitglied der IADAA und ehemaliges Mitglied des Vorstands.

Seine Galerie befindet sich im King David Hotel-Annex, wo auch alle anderen Kunstgalerien in Jerusalem ihren Sitz haben. Seine Galerie ist von der Israel Antiquities Autority autorisiert. Alle Objekte in der Galerie haben eine legale Provenienz und werden mit einem offiziellen Export-Zertifikat ausgeführt.

Roman bronze Hermes – a balsamarium
2nd century AD
H. 16.5 cm
Ex. American private collection, New York City, acquired from Mathias Komor in the 1960s-70s.

Sasson Ancient Art

Back to index

Gideon Sasson

Sasson Ancient Art
King David Hotel-Annex
IS-Jerusalem 94 101
Israel

T +9722 622 1460
F +9722 624 9483

gideon@sassonancientart.com
Visit website

The Sasson Ancient Art Gallery deals in ancient art and antiquities from the Near East, Egypt, and the Classical world: Greek, Etruscan and Roman. It deals as well with early Jewish and Christian art from the early Byzantine period.
The Gallery was founded in 1981, by Gideon Sasson, third generation in the art trade in Jerusalem, graduate of the Archaeological Institute of the Hebrew University, Jerusalem, completed his studies for M.A. in Classical Archaeology, in 1978.
Gideon Sasson specializes in bronze and marble sculpture and pre-Roman and Roman glass. He has had a major part in the formation of several important ancient art collections, and among his clients are museums, collectors and dealers worldwide. He has exhibited in international art fairs, such as TEFAF Basel, and he is a founding member of IADAA and a former member of its Executive Board.
The gallery is located in the King David Hotel-Annex, in the art galleries district of Jerusalem, Israel. The gallery is authorized by the Israel Antiquities Authority. The objects in the gallery are all of legal provenance, registered at the Israel Antiquities Authority, and are exported from Israel, with the export approval certificate of the Authority.

Roman bronze Hermes – a balsamarium
2nd century AD
H. 16.5 cm
Ex. American private collection, New York City, acquired from Mathias Komor in the 1960s-70s.